top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah G

14th June 2021

Design


Together with other people on my course we decided to chat through our work and discuss how we could improve certain things. Having a look at others people’s work has also been very helpful. I was partially interested in how others have done their market report as this is something I feel needs improving. Other people have discussed in depth their market, sustainability and technology which is what I need to do. Creating a more visual report also seems to be better. I showed others my sketchbook as I felt this is something I’ve done well.


Feedback for my formative feedback has been super helpful and I’m starting to make steps to improve my work. I’ve been working on my colour palette by picking out key colours from my research. These are greens, reds/pinks, creams and black. Therefore I’m going to go research more technical fabrics in these colours and start adding colours to my drawings to figure out the main and accent colours.



I’ve also started to move forward with my project by deciding on a design and toiling. One comment is that I need to be more confident in decision making, this is something I’ve always been told throughout education. By looking at designers and styles I like, I will hopeful become more confident in my final design. At the moment I’m still unsure if the bomber jacket is the right decision as the only part which uses a single piece to create a piece is the sleeve. I’m worried this doesn’t show the application of smocking enough and the idea of creating the silhouette from craft techniques. I have done loads of other stand work throughout my project of ideas which maybe show the smocking technique more. But I like the bomber jacket idea as it’s modern and is a style I like. But I need to keep moving forward so I’m going to continue with this idea and develop it as I go along to show my pattern cutting skills more. I have thought that perhaps the lining to show more smocking techniques or the collar and hem. Others garments Togo with the jacket could also explore scaling up smocking techniques to create the silhouette and shape.


To improve my mark I need to add more depth to everything and in particular my research and application of sustainability, positive design and technology. Therefore I’m going to focus on gathering more research of these areas during the evenings.


This week I’ve also started to think about getting things sorted to apply for jobs. I had a meeting to discuss the steps I should take. I have a cv which is fine so need to create a cover letter and carry out research of brands I would like to contact directly. I’m also going to explore through websites for advertised jobs. One thing which had been holding be back is my portfolio as my Ba needs improving and I haven’t started my Ma one yet. But I don’t need to complete my Ma portfolio to apply so I’m going to start creating one this weekend using what I have so far. The layout is what I find difficult but during a tutorial it was suggested that I research magazines to get ideas, so this is what I’m going to do. I want to create a main physical portfolio and a mini digital portfolio that I can email to brands. I should probably make a copy of my full portfolio digital too.


I’ve booked to get my garment photographed so need to start researching ideas for this. I’ve also booked to get my samples photographed for my portfolio, this will help my work look more professional.


I like the idea of working for a slightly smaller ready to wear or upper high street company. I have experience in this type of company and really enjoyed being part of a smaller team. But I’m still open to other places too. I’m interested in both design and pattern cutting but want a job that is more hands on and varied rather than one particular thing. I’d like to work somewhere that is nurturing and I can learn a lot to grow In confidence. At the moment I think I will look mainly at jobs in London as I like it there and there are more opportunities within fashion.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page