top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah G

22nd February 2021

Updated: Aug 1, 2021

Design


Continuing on from last weeks smocking samples I decided to focus on honey comb smocking as it worked out the best. I tried various scales and sizes, the first one I made took me nearly a whole day, due to the small scale and size. To create a garment using this scale would take a long time and wouldn’t leave me much time to experiment with different versions. Therefore, I enlarged the smocking and was able to create samples in a lot less time. This larger scale is much more achievable for an entire garment , but I could always use the smaller scale in small sections.





After further research of smocking I learned that sheering became popular in the 1970s as a way to get the smocked look much quicker. The sheering technique is more suitable for mass production. I would like to experiment with sheering samples, using elastic thread on the sewing machine. An artist who creates silk sculptures gave me the idea of exploring how craft techniques could alter the colours or pattern of fabric. With more gathered areas appearing darker and less gathered lighter. The sculptures also have a similar voluminous shape to some 19th century dresses. This artwork has also helped me think about suitable fabrics such as lightweight and semi-sheer fabrics. Materials like tulle, organza and silks might be great fabrics to experiment with. I think to get a vast difference in colour the fabric couldn’t be pale, so would have to be a strong colour.


Whilst creating the critical path I had planned out what I would do everyday. But at the same time knowing that this plan wasn’t solid as I couldn’t know what I would do weeks in advance. Therefore my tutor suggested only putting in key dates and create deadlines for myself. This made it a lot easier to see when tasks need to be completed by, as I can’t spend forever on something. This technique of creating a critical path is something I will take forward in my work/career. As it ensures my work keeps going forward even if I feel things need more time or work. This will help me with time management and meeting deadlines.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page