top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah G

8th February 2021

Design


I was feeling a bit lost with my current proposal idea and research, so after a discussion with my tutor I’ve decided to start again. We spoke about Manx tartan and how the pattern can be folded or pleated to hide certain sections of be cut on the bias to alter the design. This would link to my interest in supporting local businesses, craft and heritage. I contacted the Manx national heritage and have a few names that I could contact for more information about Manx tartan. A lady also sent me her dissertation on traditional Manx dress and tartan which would be great for gaining more insight into the history of Manx tartan and weaving. But after further thought I’ve decided not to pursue this idea as I don’t feel that I want to work with wool as I’ve done this a lot in the past. I have also use Manx tweed before in my Final BA project. The idea of pattern cutting with tartan can be brought into the Rebel Tartan project though and my knowledge of Manx tartan/weaving may help If I discuss about my Ba work.


Therefore, I’ve chosen to focus on a craft technique or particular garment. There is a garment which I love which is a Victorian blouse with smocking and pleats, so I think these techniques and silhouette is what I like to develop further. Looking at the garment and working out the process to achieve a similar shape that’s suitable for today. The different topics I could look into are homecrafts, heritage and slow fashion. I don’t particularly want to do timeless fashion though, as even though this is becoming increasingly popular, I feel it’s a trend in itself, I also like how fashion changes to reflect the current times. I think people are maybe moving more towards choosing clothes that fit their own personal style and lifestyle rather than following trends. So not timeless in the sense of minimalistic clothes or basics, but more garments which someone loves. This is difficult though as you don’t know what people will love and I’m not sure how as a designer I can encourage personal style, with trend to inspire people but not in an unsustainable fast fashion way. This is something I could investigate more.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page